Reality Check

Only one day left of spring break! I’ve spent my week sleeping, eating, watching TV, hanging out with friends, and oh– turning in the odd internship application or two. It’s been a glorious week of relaxation and laziness, and it’s hard to believe that I have to go back to school on Monday.

One of the other things I’ve been thinking a lot about during break has been something very much on my mind. A few weeks ago I found out that one of my friends and team-members from last semester was in a very serious car accident. He is in very serious condition, and although he is progressing as well as can be expected under the circumstances, he has a long way back to full recovery. Needless to say, he won’t be back this semester.

This has really opened my eyes to bring a new perspective to my life. Sometimes it is oh so very easy to get caught up in the mundane details of life as a student– homework, gripes about our teachers, midterms, study time– that we forget to appreciate what is really important. Friends. Family. Being healthy.

Leave a Reply

