Bad Poetry Alert

Remember my days of posting bad poetry I’d written? Well, I am home and just stumbled across some of my old journals. The bad news– I’ve never been, and never will be, a (good) poet. The good news– I have many more poems for your viewing pleasure! Here are some VERY old gems I found.

Mommy
Mommy, mommy
you are mine, come
sit down with me and dine.

Birthday
Today is your birthday, isn’t that fun? We’ll sit
down and have soda and ice-fun.

Daddy
Daddy, daddy you
are fine, come sit
down with me and
dine.

Your my Daddy
Your my daddy. I
met you, I liked
you, and I like you,
now.

OK, I know I was 8, but “ice-fun”? REALLY? If I could go back in time I’d tell 8 year old me to try a little harder to find a rhyming word. Also, for the life of me I wish I could find “Santa’s Reindeer and Dinosaurs”, because I’m pretty sure one of the reindeer had a habit of saying ‘bodacious!’

5 thoughts on “Bad Poetry Alert

  1. This reminds me of the time my little cousin was visiting…found some similar books I had made. Read them, then randomly through out the quotes that night at dinner to make me squirm. My mom thought the whole thing was hysterical.

  2. That’s awesome. I can see that your artistic talent started very young! Can’t wait for you to discover and post more!

Leave a Reply

