Cautionary Tale

So, the final verdict is in– I have blood clots in my leg. Definitely NOT what I was expecting.

I was woken up yesterday morning around 6:30 by the doctor I’d seen the day before. Somewhere in the sleep haze I started realizing that she wanted me to go to the ER– right away. So I brushed my teeth, grabbed some necessities, and hailed a cab to the hospital. Not exactly a typical morning for yours truly.

I spent the better part of the morning hanging out in the B&W ER– and I must say, I was rather impressed with the kindness and professionalism of the ER staff. I interacted with at least 10 different doctors, nurses, and technicians while there and they were all lovely. Here’s my takeaways:

  • The hospital is boring. Most of the time you’re just sitting around waiting for someone to come check on you or move you somewhere else. I brought a book to read and it was an excellent decision.
  • The hospital is cold. I was very glad of my sweatshirt– even though it was 80 degrees outside, it was chilly inside. It also made a great neck pillow.
  • It is rather perversely amusing to compose an email to your boss that starts: “Hi, I won’t be in today since I’m in the ER right now.”
  • Shots are not fun. Seriously.
  • Pack a snack because if you are like me and dashed out of the house without getting coffee or breakfast, you’ll get hungry at some point.

Anyway, my real point to this whole thing is that you should really get to know your body in the sense that if something doesn’t feel right, don’t ignore it. It’s better to feel dumb and be over-cautious than to have things go badly because you figured it wasn’t a big deal. I only went to see the doctor because I was surprised that my ‘pulled muscle’ wasn’t feeling any better after a week. To be honest, I am also a big wimp so the fact that the leg was so painful made me think that maybe I could get something better than just Tylenol to deal with it. If I hadn’t made the appointment with the doctor, I wouldn’t have gotten blood work done, and I would have never known I had blood clots. Thankfully we caught them. But they’re nothing to mess around with. So don’t be afraid to go see your doctor. That is all.

One thought on “Cautionary Tale

Leave a Reply

