Milestone

My health has had ups and downs over the years. In fall of 2011, I was very unhappy. I had gained a lot of weight during grad school, I felt old and tired, my joints were aching, it was hard to go up stairs, and I just didn’t feel good about myself.

So, I decided I had to do something about it. I started a Couch 2 5K program. I walked a 5K. It started getting colder, so I joined a gym. I ran a 5K. I started seeing a trainer. I ran another 5K.

I had a slight setback when I had the DVT/PE. But it really brought home the importance of good health, and made me sit back and reassess my life. I started seeing a nutritionist. I started really getting serious about the gym. I ran yet another 5K.

I made it through the holidays without gaining any weight (compared to a few years ago where I definitely gained at least 10 pounds in a period of a few weeks). And now I’ve hit a major milestone for me– I’ve lost 30 pounds in the last year! I still have a little ways to go until I hit a healthy range for me. But I’m back to where I was before I started school, and I feel a million times better.

It’s been hard work. It’s not easy. It’s just as much a mental as it is a physical process. But sometimes hard work pays off!

2 thoughts on “Milestone

Leave a Reply

