El Oriental de Cuba

Yesterday spent the whole day cleaning. My inner neat freak had been having hysterics over the state of my room and the apartment, and when the roomie mentioned that her parents were coming over I was spurred into action. I feel soooo much better now! The room is clean and organized, the winter wardrobe has been unpacked, the new clothes are put away, the floors are dusted, sheets are changed, tub is scrubbed and laundry is fresh and clean. Aaaaaah.

I also got to hang out with my favorite chica Carrie Anne last night! Carrie Anne and I have historically been really bad at keeping up with each other. Even though we only live a 10 min. walk from each other, typically months and months go by before we meet up. We are getting better though! Our last meeting (watching Light in the Piazza) was only a month or so ago. We were both feeling lazy so I went over to her place and then we walked over to El Oriental de Cuba for dinner.

I’ve been meaning to come here for the entire three years that I’ve been living in JP, but somehow never made it before last night. I was kind of mad at myself, because I’ve been missing out! The food was great. For a Sunday night, the place was packed. After a short wait we were seated at a small table in the back next to a drafty window. Unfortunately the windowsills leak air– a lot! (Note to self– next time ask for a table by the wall!) Carrie Anne got a Cubano and I opted for Ropa Vieja, which came with beans, rice, and fried ripe plantains. Yum! Carrie Anne also got fried yuca, which was amazing and I definitely want to try that again. We also got flan which appeared to be homemade and was delicious. The bill was very reasonable, and I am definitely going to go back there. Hopefully before another 3 years go by!

After our yummy dinner we headed back to Carrie Anne’s place and hung out for a bit. We started going through her closet and I had my own personal fashion show. That girl is hilarious; she has some of the most random outfits I’ve ever seen. I hope she wears her goth dress with the LAMB shoes for Halloween.

All in all, a great weekend. I have a lot of stuff going on this week and I am going to have to get back into the groove as far as business school apps go. Only a few weeks before 3 apps are due!!! Yikes!!! So, this week will be busy. And A. comes back this Sunday, so I’m definitely looking forward to that. Have been missing him a lot, and he is really bad at emailing. I have been getting these random emails once every few days: “Hi.” “Miss you.” “See you soon.” Haha. It’s definitely going to be a busy fall. ALSO I almost forgot, but the Phillies are playing tonight and hopefully they win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

