Road to Recovery- Pt. 5

I’ve finally got my voice back. It fades out if I talk for a while, and my ears start hurting if I talk too much as well…. but it’s good not to sound like the Godfather. I’ll be interested to find out if my voice sounds the same as it did before the surgery, once I have full use of my vocal chords again.

The nights are still the worst– rather, the mornings are, after the medicine gulped down at 3 AM wears off. I lie in a fog of sleepiness, too tired to fire the neurons that should be telling my body to get up, rinse out my mouth, and take another dose of Tylenol. When I finally manage to do so, the meds hit me hard, and I have trouble opening my eyes to make it out of bed before noon.

All in all, I am pretty happy to be at this point– still tired, but feeling much healthier and improving every day. I emailed my boss to let him know that I would be back at work tomorrow, and he responded with a nice note, telling me he’d get ice cream for my throat. I doubt I’ll put in a full day’s work Tuesday, but it will be good to get out of the apartment for a while. I’ve been overdosing on Law and Order lately, and a change of scenery should do me good.

Leave a Reply

