Couch to 5K Challenge

So ever since the dreaded surgery of a few weeks ago, I have been enjoying a pleasant benefit to getting my tonsils removed– I lost a total of 5 lbs! I realize that this may not seem like that much weight, but I’ve been battling the same 5-8 lbs up and down for the past year, and to get this unexpected boost in the right direction was a bonus. I actually did not lose as much as some others who’ve gotten their tonsils out. My surgeon was surprised I hadn’t lost more, and I’m honestly not sure why I didn’t lose more either. The only explanation I can think of is that my body went into ‘starvation mode’ and was refusing to let the weight loss get too ‘bad.’ Eh, I’m still happy.

In any case, the additional benefits are that my clothes are fitting better, I am finally a true size 8 instead of just wishing and hoping and stuffing myself into tight pants, and I’ve been having lots of fun ‘shopping’ in my closet. However, the scale has not budged once since that initial dramatic weight loss right after the surgery. I suppose this is good, especially since I’m now back to eating normal foods (real cheese yesterday! wow!). But I am only 10-15 lbs away from being a healthy weight for my body, and it is soooo close it’s maddening. I know that I am eating well (particularly now that I can actually eat again). I also recognize that the real culprit to my stagnant loss is EXERCISE. I don’t do it. I say I will, but I don’t. There is a butt-shaped impression on my couch, and I probably have calluses on my thumbs from the remote control. Yeah, I’m a couch potato.

So I’ve decided to do something about it. I’m going to beat these last few pounds and get healthy– something I’ve been trying to do for years. I found this challenge online and it seems do-able. So I’m going to use this as a way to try and get my butt in gear. Wish me luck, ’cause I’m really going to need it!

One Comment on “Couch to 5K Challenge

Leave a Reply

