Tuesday Afternoon…

Love that song. My Tuesday afternoon was pretty good. Nothing is definite yet, but I may be able to work PT at my job after I leave in August to go back to school… that would be awesome! It would definitely solve some of the anxiety I am having re. money, so keep your fingers crossed that it will go through.

After staying late at work, I came home starved! I knew already that I had to make something with mushrooms, since I had a whole bunch of baby bella in the fridge that were calling my name. I ended up making mushroom stroganoff– I sauteed some chopped onion, added the mushrooms, some salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper and cumin (I didn’t have any paprika), and cooked it down. I add some crushed cashew nuts and a slug of red wine towards the end just for fun. When everything came together, I took the mess off the heat and stirred in half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of Fage yogurt. I served the mushroom mix over egg noodles– so good! I will be looking forward to my lunch tomorrow, when I’ll have the leftovers.

After dinner I felt like having something sweet. I know I probably shouldn’t have, but for some reason I had a HUGE craving for peanut butter, so I made some peanut butter cookies. They were really fast and easy– 1 cup pb, 1 cup sugar (I used 1/4 cup brown and 3/4 cup cane), 1 tsp baking soda, 1 egg, dash of vanilla all mixed together and baked at 375 for 10 minutes. I miscalculated and overcooked the cookies, so some of them were pretty burnt on the bottom. They were still yummy and I ate two (they were broken! I had to!). Now I’m feeling slightly guilty, but I’ll do some weights later tonight to try and make up for it. I’ll take the rest to A. tomorrow, and I’m sure he won’t mind eating my mistakes. 🙂

I have a confession to make, I still haven’t made it to the gym. EEEEE!!!! I know, so bad. I have to just force myself to go after work, but it’s tough since that’s when I just want to crash. The alternative would be to get up earlier in the morning and go then, but we all know that I am so NOT a morning person…. I gotta get my butt in gear. Ugh.

2 Comments on “Tuesday Afternoon…

  1. Great low calorie alternative when you get a craving for something sweet…low fat graham cracker and a marshmellow…pop in microwave for a few seconds and you’ve got yourself a smore without the chocolate. amazing!!

  2. Sounds good! Except my pantry doesn’t have either item…. maybe I’ll have to keep this in mind next time I hit up the Stop n Shop.

Leave a Reply

