Summer Vacation and Fresh Air

Where oh where has the time gone? It feels like just yesterday I was turning up the heat and huddling under the covers trying to warm my chilly feet. . . oh wait, that WAS yesterday! Oh Boston you saucy little minx, how you hate to admit it is summer.

While the dreary rain and chilly air outside today might try to fool you, it actually IS summer, and I have been busy trying to plan out my summer vacation, as it were. I have a few remaining days that I have to take by the end of June, so I’ll be taking long weekends for the next three weeks. Nice!

Then once July rolls around I’m heading off on my grand adventure! Planning out where and when I’ll be going has been… well it hasn’t been fun. My head hurts a little. But I am confident that soon all the pieces will fall together and I’ll be on my way. The plan as it stands right now is to head down from the Boston area to Philly for a brief stop-over, then down to Baltimore, Arlington, a stop-over in NC, down to Georgia, St. Augustine Florida, Tampa, and Fort Lauderdale. Then I get to do the whole trip in reverse! That’s the part I’m not looking forward to so much, but the alternative (renting a car and flying back) is sooooo expensive. I just wish I knew someone in North or South Carolina, since I’ll be breaking somewhere there both on the way down and the way back.

But needless to say, I can’t wait to get out of the office! I haven’t had a good summer off in forever. I need to stand up, let the impression of my office chair fade from my behind, run around, soak in some sun, have some wine, spend time with friends, read, sleep, and just enjoy life. I feel like I’ve been cooped up inside for EONS.

Which brings me to the next item on my agenda. I was recently contacted by someone from the Fresh Air Fund (how they found this little blog I have no idea… but hi!). The Fresh Air Fund is a pretty neat NP that gives free summer vacations to NYC kids from low-income communities. The idea is that every kid deserves a summer in the great outdoors, away from the city. I think it’s a great idea, because while I do love living in the city, I can’t imagine what my summers would have been like growing up if I hadn’t been able to run around in the acre lot where my family lived. Summertime for me meant green grass, climbing trees, building clubhouses in the bushes, swimming, running around after lightning bugs, and camping out in the backyard.

The Fresh Air Fund is currently promoting a matching program for all donations made before June 30th. If you donate anything during this time period, your donation will be matched dollar for dollar!! Now, speaking as someone who has solicited donations from college alumni, this is a great opportunity. It’s like a 2-for-1 deal. It’s like getting an extra toy in your box of cereal. It’s like…. well it’s just good.

Now I know times are tight (I am facing my imminent loss of paycheck and it is scary, lemme tell you) but if you have a few extra dollars lying around consider contributing something to the fund. Fresh Air sent me a bunch of banners and buttons, but unfortunately WordPress doesn’t allow me to embed code in my posts (what’s up with that????). So go here for more information.

*Update* I figured out how to embed code. Yay! So you can also click on the banner below too, should you wish.

One Comment on “Summer Vacation and Fresh Air

  1. Pingback: Thank You Spring Fresh Air Fund Bloggers « Fresh Air Fund Blog

Leave a Reply

