Busy Busy Bee

Well the move was successful, and I’m (mostly) settled in my new place. Can I just take a moment and say how exciting it is NOT to have a roommate???? I have had the year of roommates from hell, and I am SO EXCITED to finally live on my own.

I’m still getting to know my new neighborhood, and have been trying to explore a little. It’s been a little difficult since there is so much to still get done before school starts next week. (School. Starting. Next week. WOW. Pinch me now…. no seriously….).

The apartment is slowly starting to feel like home. I’m not one of those people who can just pick up and go wherever they like with a bag or two. I am a collector. I like STUFF. And I have a lot of it. Granted, I pared down quite a bit when I moved from JP. But I still have lots of THINGS, and these things need to be put away. They need to go in their proper places. Or else I just have a very very messy room. And I can’t function in mess.

So as I’m slowly getting my STUFF into place, putting up pictures, arranging my knick-knacks, I’m slowly starting to settle in. There is also that learning curve everyone has when moving into a new space– you know, the period of time in which you have to learn the habits of your new apartment. Like, the kitchen tap takes a loooong time to get hot water, and the room is so dark at night that you’d better make sure you set your alarm in the morning or you will NOT wake up, and the trash people come on Mondays not Fridays, and the bathroom light is on the OUTSIDE not inside the room like the way the rest of the world’s bathrooms are designed, and oh you’d better forget about parking your out-of-state car in the neighborhood ’cause you WILL get ticketed– twice– on the same day. Sigh.

Yes, there are still pictures to put up. There are still minor housekeeping issues that need to be addressed by the landlord. There are still tickets to pay, and packets of accounting material to read and review. But they will all be dealt with, and I have to say– I’m looking forward to a great two years in Boston.

PS: Did you know that I am a Tropical Storm? 🙂

One Comment on “Busy Busy Bee

  1. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit

Leave a Reply

