Link Day

When I applied to business school last fall, I was excited about leaving the 9-5 grind. I eagerly looked forward to being a student again. The learning, the intellectual stimulation, all my new classmates… I couldn’t wait. I conveniently forgot one of the OTHER “benefits” to being a student– it. Never. Ends. Weekends aren’t completely devoted to schoolwork (although sometimes it seems like that’s the case), but I do spend the vast majority of my time on something school-related. Last weekend, it happened to be Link Day.

Every year BU’s Public and Nonprofit Club puts on a one-day consulting event called Link Day. It’s a very cool event that brings together teams of students and faculty members with local area non-profits. The teams have all day to work on a problem that the non-profit brings to us, and at the end of the day there is a brief presentation, followed by a reception.

This year, I was one of the committee members, and so my Saturday started bright and early at 6 AM as I ran around getting ready, and most importantly, brewing my first cup of coffee. I heard that it was a beautiful day in Boston, but I spent all day inside making sure things were running smoothly. Which they did! We had no problems or issues arise, and it was so satisfying to hear the compliments that the nonprofits gave to our fellow students, and hear how excited the students were to work with the nonprofits. I can’t wait to work on a team next year.

This weekend, I’ll probably be studying for midterms (which are ALREADY next week!!! Yikes!). But spring break comes at the end of next week, so that will be the light at the end of my tunnel. I need to think of some good ideas of things to do over break. So far my list is: Sleep. More sleep. Sleep. I need to add some interesting items to that list. 🙂

One Comment on “Link Day

  1. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

Leave a Reply

