Two Weeks

Can you believe it? Only two weeks left at my summer internship! My how time has flown. I can’t believe it’s already mid-August, and school is starting in just a few short weeks.

One of the things that VMware asks its interns to do as part of the intern program is to prepare a final presentation. For business interns (which I am), this is a 10-15 minute talk in front of the other business interns. However, since I am the only business intern in Cambridge, this means that I have no one to present in front of! So instead, I’m going to be preparing a poster presentation along with all the other technical interns. Yikes! I’ve never made a poster before. Give me powerpoint any day (I would have NEVER thought I’d be saying that if you’d asked me just a few short months ago).

Anyway. The point of this is that while I was preparing the material I want to put on my poster, I realized just HOW MUCH I’ve done, and learned, this summer. This internship has been one of the best things to come out of this crazy year, if only for the fact that it has forced me to stretch myself and grow in ways that I would have not thought possible. It has also opened up new avenues in terms of what I might be interested in for future career possibilities, which is incredibly cool, considering I’ve basically done a 180 since starting school.

The lesson learned here is that you need to keep an open mind. You never know what experience you might have, what professor might influence you, what classmates you might sit next to, what industry person you might bump into, or what internship you might get– and it just might open your eyes to what’s out there in the big wide world.

2 Comments on “Two Weeks

  1. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline « Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

  2. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline | B-School Admissions Formula

Leave a Reply

