My, how we’ve changed

In 2005, I moved into my very first big-girl apartment. I’d lived away from home before, but this was the first time that I was truly on my own. There was this magical thing called “WiFi”, which meant that I wouldn’t need to keep my laptop tethered to the wall with an Ethernet cable. I had no idea how this “WiFi” worked. And so I marched down to the local Best Buy, braced myself against the smell of teenage boys and sweat socks, and got the Geek Squad to come over and set up my router.

Today marked my first month of full-time work for a company that provides virtualization software. My entire working career has been for companies in the technology field. I’ll be the first to admit that I am pretty clueless when it comes to tech stuff. But I DO know how to set up my own wireless router, these days.

Leave a Reply

