He Said/She Said

Portrait of an articulated skeleton on a bentwood chair

What he wrote:
A 6 paragraph essay on how I am the perfect woman for him. He just knows it.

What I wrote:
“Hi there, Sorry it took me so long to reply. I was out of town this past summer, and then busy starting a new job. So life has been crazy. Thank you for the very nice email. I love the fact that you make mix CDs! The mixtape is a dying art.”

What he wrote:
An 8 paragraph essay. Including “thank you very, very much for being one of the chosen few who responded to me….which i guess in a sense makes me the chosen one? hmmm”

What I wrote:
Nothing.

What he wrote:
“i hope things are going well for you….do you still want to talk or have we drifted apart already?”

What I wrote:
Nothing. (To be fair, I wasn’t sure what to say– and I got busy!)

What he wrote:
“did I do something wrong?”

Online dating. You can have a whole relationship flourish, wither and die in the space of time it takes to stand in line at Starbucks. This is not a game for the weak or tender-hearted.

One Comment on “He Said/She Said

  1. your story reminds me of when i tried on-line dating long long ago. some dude sent me a link to his website, and it was something like shedumpedme.com. it was all about how he has turned to on-line dating after getting cruelly dumped by the love of his life. needless to say, i never responded.

Leave a Reply

