Dirty Thirty

So. I turned thirty yesterday. Yeah.

Thirty years ago, there was a nasty weekend storm with snow and sleet, in one of the coldest winters on record. On tv people were watching Dukes of Hazzard, Dallas, and Falcon Crest. The top songs and records were ‘Physical’, ‘Let’s Groove’, ‘Waiting for a Girl Like You’, and ‘Why do Fools Fall In Love’. Those tv-watchers were probably wearing peg pants, knickers, warm-up socks, and/or mini-skirts. The average price of a home was $84,000 minimum wage was $3.35 an hour and a gallon of gas cost $1.29. President Reagan was attempting to hold off a new recession, and an airline called Laker Airways went bankrupt.

A lot has changed since then. A lot is actually the same. According to my astrology chart Aquarians are intuitive, sensitive, and kindhearted. I’m gonna say that’s pretty accurate.

Reminiscing aside, my actual birthday was pretty tame. I woke up late, cleaned my apartment, went out to lunch and watched the Superbowl. No crazy celebrations, no balloons, no cake, no birthday song. It’s not how I always pictured my ‘milestone’ birthday but it was oddly appropriate. I guess I’m a grown up now.

One Comment on “Dirty Thirty

Leave a Reply

