Back to the Races

So, I ended up taking a break of nearly 2.5 months, but I’m back to the grind– I’ll be running the Boston BAA 5K in mid-April. Ah. Can I just say, trying to get back into running after taking a break is the worst ever! I feel like I’ve lost all my stamina. No lie, I was running on the treadmill yesterday and I found myself literally counting down the seconds until I could stop jogging and walk for a few minutes. It’s going to take a little bit of work to get back to the point I was at previously, this past December.

Well, I’ve got my schedule together and at least I’m running a little bit now. I’ll have to just work my way back up to 5K shape. There are a couple good things going for me. For one, the gym is already part of my nightly routine. Now I just need to make sure I am not only strength training. Secondly, having my ‘guy friend’ also be really into health (and who will be running the race with me) is extremely supportive and helpful. Lastly, I’m determined to beat my time from my last race, so I’ll essentially be competing against myself.

Next step: get a good workout mix so I can jam out while I fight through the pain! Anyone have any good song suggestions?

3 Comments on “Back to the Races

  1. you are my inspiration! i want to start running on a regular basis also, and it is so hard to stay motivated. GAH.
    RE: workout mix — I’ve recently been listening to “Moves Like Jagger” (Maroon 5), “Just the Way You Are” (Bruno Mars), “On the Floor” (J Lo.), and just about anything from Ke$ha. And Timbaland.

    • The only way that I’ve been able to get running is the fact that I don’t want to embarrass myself at the race. Also, I had to literally schedule appointments to run on my calendar. Otherwise I won’t do it.

      Thanks for the song suggestions! I’m going to make a rocking running list. PS Ke$ha always reminds me of Ajay’s wedding.

  2. I actually love running to Beyonce-Halo — It’s slower than what you would expect for a perfect running song but the strong, steady beat is great for pacing! Moby works and then for more pop, I go for a little Brit-Brit (I Wanna Go, Till the World Ends), I second JLo’s On the Floor, and some Rihanna.

    Good luck running your 5k!! I also highly recommend getting some road running in… you won’t even need music!!

Leave a Reply

