St Patrick’s Day… Or Halloween 2?

I was watching tv tonight when a commercial came on promoting costumes for St. Patrick’s Day. At first I thought, ‘yeah that’s right– St Pattys Day is coming up soon.’ But then I realized that this was kind of weird. When has St. Patty’s Day turned into the Halloween of the spring? Check out these examples of costumes I found for sale at Target:

Wow, I had no idea that I too could live out my dreams of being a sexy leprechaun-ess! Awesome!!!

But seriously. Do people really dress up to go out and drink themselves silly? I mean, I get the whole wearing green thing, and I’ve seen people wearing themed shirts like “Kiss Me I’m Irish” or even sporting green beads. But full out costumes seems a little excessive, especially when you think that most of these people buying these items are going to be puking all over themselves by the end of the night anyway.

On the other hand, this is a pretty slick move on the part of the retail stores, because it gives them another fake holiday to promote, and it’s doubtful that you’ll keep your beer-stained and other mystery-stained costume to wear year after year… resulting in guaranteed repeat purchasing behavior! Genius!

2 Comments on “St Patrick’s Day… Or Halloween 2?

  1. haha. This post made me laugh a bit and completely agree with you. I still can’t wait for the madness and I’m pretty sure I’m going to see someone in a costumes this Saturday in NYC

Leave a Reply

