Hungry for the Hunger Games

So I am going to watch the Hunger Games tomorrow- a full day before the release date. Thank you, BU Alumni Association! I will admit, I resisted reading the trilogy at first because I didn’t think the books would be that good. Well, they weren’t. I mean, they were enjoyable– light quick reads, interesting premise, alternate reality. But I didn’t find them all that well written, the characters were shallow and ill-defined, and in all honesty I really don’t like the Katniss character. I think she’s one of those typical female characters you see too often these days in young adult books. She’s beautiful but she doesn’t know it or believe it. She has at least two guys who are in love with her. She doesn’t really have much of a personality– her anger, pettiness, and petulance is supposed to mask a deeper depth of character– but there’s really not too much beyond the surface. (Shades of Twilight, anyone?)

In Katniss’s case, she is also good at hunting and tracking, so she has that going for her. But please, where are the girls who are plain and have skin problems? Where are the girls who DON’T have any guys madly in love with them? Where are the girls who are book smart as well as street smart? Where are the girls who have a sense of humor?

In case I haven’t made myself clear, I didn’t think the Hunger Games were that great in terms of literary young adult fiction. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy reading the books, and that also doesn’t mean I’m not excited to see the movie tomorrow! I have a feeling that the plot will transfer well to the big screen– and if stories like this are any indication, I’m not the only one who feels this way!

2 Comments on “Hungry for the Hunger Games

  1. Katniss was pretty annoying throughout the series, but I actually wanted to punch her in Book 3. But yeah, I’m still dying to see the movie, because I love JLaw.
    Anyway, you know where I stand on this whole woe-is-me-i-have-too-many-hot-guys-who-love-me-i’m-so-beautiful-and-don’t-know-it YA books.
    “The Summer I Realized I Had to Rely on My Personality” FTW!

Leave a Reply

