Awkward

So, I met with the ex today. It wasn’t something I really wanted to do. But, after the great computer fiasco of 2013, I discovered that I was missing one of my Office CDs and I’d thought he might have it. He didn’t, but he wanted to meet up anyway so we could exchange some small items we both still had.

I was kind of nervous about the meeting. That’s what obsessive viewings of the Investigation Discovery channel will do to you. But it was fine. He came up, we exchanged items (kind of weird, because he was giving me things he’d bought for me back when we were still together), and made some awkward small talk.

Then he asked if I’d eaten yet, and I panicked and said ‘no, but I have plans.’ Um yeah, my plans involved take out from Rod Dee and a movie On Demand. He took off and I watched him leave from my living room window.

It was only later that I realized that he’d changed out of his work clothes, shaved, put in his contacts, and had probably been hoping for more than our brief interaction ended up being. It made me feel bad. But also, there was a reason it didn’t work out between us and seeing him again confirmed that it’s better that we’re not together.

Leave a Reply

