In the News

One of the things that I don’t talk about very much is the fact that I am partially deaf. This is a genetic condition and I have been wearing hearing aids for more than 25 years now. This is a simple part of who I am and an additional facet to my person and character. I sometimes feel like a robot, because I can program myself! I have programs for activities such as talking on the phone, going to concerts, sitting in noisy bars holding conversations with people, etc. I have a great excuse when I want to ignore something someone has said, and I almost always sleep very well at night.

This isn’t a secret, and if you stand close to me you’ll see the hearing aids– they aren’t exactly tiny! But a lot of people still don’t realize that I have a hearing disability. I’ve found that in recent years I’ve started talking more and more about this side of me. I think that this is partly due to my increased self-confidence, which extends to many different areas of my life, and partly due to the realization that there is no point to not being open about this. This is my life!

I was contacted by the corporate PR team at my company a few months ago, asking if I would be willing to give an interview to a magazine called CAREERS and the disABLED. This magazine is a career-guidance and recruitment magazine for people with disabilities who are at undergraduate, graduate, or professional levels. The interview is out now, which is super exciting! Have a read if you have a few free minutes.

My specific pages here:
http://bt.e-ditionsbyfry.com/publication/?i=251899&p=44 and http://bt.e-ditionsbyfry.com/publication/?i=251899&p=45 or http://bit.ly/1bUvp0Z for the entire edition.

 

Leave a Reply

