Ladies Lounge- Recap

Photo courtesy JUGS Boston

Photo courtesy JUGS Boston

The Ladies Lounge- Tech talk (courtesy of General Assembly, WeWork, and Just Us Gals Boston) last night was, in a word, fabulous. Sitting among a group of amazing women reminded me of how lucky I am to be living in an area where we have such a vibrant and active community. I remember when I started working on women in tech-related issues 2-3 years ago… at the time I didn’t really consider myself a ‘woman in tech’ (now I do, but that’s a topic for a whole different post!). I didn’t know any of the major players in the field. My network game was not strong.

I started off slowly, getting connected to one or two women. They in turn connected me to one or two women (and some men!). And so on. I began to figure out who did what, and I started learning about different groups and organizations. I researched. I cold called and emailed. I had lots of coffee dates! There was sharing of best practices, commiserating, and brainstorming.

Yesterday was awesome. I felt experienced, I felt like I belonged, and I felt invigorated. I know that networking and putting yourself out there is difficult, but the work does pay off.

One of the things we spoke about yesterday was whether success was due to luck, or tapping into an unmet market potential/need and providing a solution. In general women tend to downplay our successes and accomplishments, so it is hard to get out of this mindset wherein I want to state that I’ve been incredibly lucky. So I won’t say that. Instead, I’ll say that I constantly go back to something I was taught in business school: ‘networking is like breathing.’ Put hard work into your network, and it will pay off. And you’ll feel super lucky.

Leave a Reply

